Menu

Take Driver Ed Online for FREE

Take the first step to earning your learner’s license with our Driver Education course. This course teaches you the rules of the road with interactive lessons and activities, helping you lower your driving risk and prepare for your licensing exam. Driver Education is free for Florida students and available online 24/7, so you can learn when and where is convenient for you.

Ready to jump into the driver’s seat?

Enroll Now

What you Learn

  • Real-world driving knowledge with simulated driving activities
  • How to read traffic signs and understand laws
  • Safe driving techniques and skills
  • Collision avoidance and reducing risk to yourself and other roadway users
  • Driving on different types of roads and in different weather conditions

What you Get

credit

High School Credit

Earn ½ credit high school elective

grad

Online Requirement

Satisfy the high school online graduation requirement

cert

TLSAE Certificate

Complete the required Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) training

exam

Free Exam

Take the Class E Knowledge Exam online for free (ages 15-17)

Frequently Asked Questions about Driver Education

You need to be at least 14 ½ years old to take this course and a minimum of 15 years old to apply for your learner’s license with the licensing office (fee required).
Students can work at their own pace but will need to be in the course at least 14 days from their first assignment. Typical students complete the course in 4-6 weeks working approximately 2-3 hours per week. Students can arrange an accelerated schedule with their teacher and finish nearer the two-week mark. Extended schedules are also available if needed. Our mission is that our students learn driving safety in an environment that fits their needs.

Because Florida Virtual School (FLVS) courses are online, there is no hands-on driving practice. However, this course does provide lessons and simulated driving activities to gain real-world driving knowledge.

After completing the course and earning a learner’s license, students in Orange and Polk counties can take advantage of 6 free hours of behind-the-wheel lessons through the Florida Safety Council. Please check with your county for additional opportunities.

Upon successful completion of the FLVS Driver Education Course, you earn the required TLSAE certificate (commonly called a drug and alcohol certificate) and students ages 15-17 are able take the licensing exam (Class E Knowledge Exam) online for FREE.

Before going to the license office, there is licensing information (fees, license locations, ID requirements) available in in the Florida Driver Handbook.

You sure can. We have plenty to teach all drivers to help lower their risk. The course adapts its content based on whether a student has a learner’s license, a driver license, or no license at all.
Some insurance companies offer discounts for successful completion of Driver Education. Please check with your insurance provider.