Skip Navigation Links
Driver Education/Traffic Safety

In the Driver Education/Traffic Safety course, students will:

Don't Text and Drive. Texting Takes Young Lives.
  • Study the Highway Transportation System, road signs, rules of the road, accident avoidance, and making good choices behind the wheel.
  • Develop the skills necessary to become a safe, responsible Florida driver.
  • View many road simulations throughout the course designed to help increase their knowledge of real world driving.
  • Receive the Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Training waiver through the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The State of Florida requires all drivers complete this prior to taking the learner's permit exam.

The FLVS Driver's Ed course has been proven to significantly reduce traffic violations and DUI incidents.*

Ready to get your Learner's Permit?

  1. Sign up for the FREE Florida Virtual School Drivers Ed/Traffic Safety course here.
  2. Work at your own pace within the course. FLVS courses are available 24/7, allowing you to complete the course on your time.
  3. Upon successful completion of the course, you will receive your 4-hour Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) Training waiver.
  4. Take the Road Signs and Safety test at your local DMV (our course will help you prepare for this test, but you are still required to take it at the DMV or online through DriversEd.com — more information on that will be shared with you during the course.)
  5. Congratulations! You are ready to start driving!

Did you know?

Driver's Ed App Study on the go with our Driver's Ed Florida FREE app!
Available at: iTunes and Android Store

  • Many car insurance providers are willing to extend additional discounts if you complete Driver's Education. And with FLVS, it's FREE to enroll!
  • Upon successful completion of the course, you receive a half credit elective! This is not offered by any other program.
  • This courses fulfills the Florida online learning requirement.

Status:

Now Registering

Cost:

FREE to all public, private and home school Florida high school students

Course Code:

1900300 (View the PDF of the course description from the Florida Course Code directory)

Prerequisites:

Students must be at least 14½ years old to take Driver's Ed, but are not eligible to take the exam for their learners permit until age 15.

Estimated Time
to Completion:
   

1 Semester/18 weeks. Talk to your instructor about an accelerated pace if you would like to complete quickly.


Do you live in Orange or Polk County?

Florida Safety CouncilGreat news! After you complete your Driver's Ed course with Florida Virtual School, we have a new, exciting program for you. In partnership with the Florida Safety Council, you now have the option to take behind-the-wheel training for FREE. To qualify, you must be an Orange or Polk County resident.

Other qualifications vary by county, so please read carefully. If you are an Orange County resident, you must be registered as a public, private, or home school student in Orange. If you are a Polk County resident, you must have completed the FLVS Driver's Ed course on or after October 1, 2011.

For more information, please visit http://www.floridasafety.org/flvscoop.

REGISTER FOR THIS COURSE NOW >

EXPLORE ALL FREE ONLINE COURSES >

 

* The above statement is based on a study conducted by the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles on the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) component of the FLVS Driver's Ed course.
Sign up for a course now.